EstatePass
USTmedium11% of exam

A state is selecting a financial-responsibility mechanism for its MLO licensing system. Under 12 U.S.C. 5107(d)(6), which approach is recognized by the SAFE Act?

Correct Answer

D) Minimum net worth or surety-bond requirements reflecting loan volume, or an originator-funded recovery fund

D. The statute recognizes volume-related net-worth or bonding requirements, or an originator-funded recovery fund. Read the alternatives as requirements for a state licensing system. The provision does not specify one flat national bond amount. Scope and exceptions: An applicant must satisfy the state’s actual implementation, not choose a preferred alternative independently. Bond terms and recovery eligibility are separate questions. The cited text is the official 2024 Code edition; current state implementation requires separate verification. Source: 12 USC 5107(d)(6), official 2024 edition — https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/USCODE-2024-title12/html/USCODE-2024-title12-chap51-sec5107.htm

Answer Options
A
Professional-liability insurance alone, with no applicable net-worth, bond, or recovery-fund requirement
B
Both a surety bond and a recovery fund in every state, with no alternative mechanism
C
A fixed federal $50,000 bond for every MLO, regardless of loan volume or state requirements
D
Minimum net worth or surety-bond requirements reflecting loan volume, or an originator-funded recovery fund

Why This Is the Correct Answer

D. The statute recognizes volume-related net-worth or bonding requirements, or an originator-funded recovery fund. Read the alternatives as requirements for a state licensing system. The provision does not specify one flat national bond amount. Scope and exceptions: An applicant must satisfy the state’s actual implementation, not choose a preferred alternative independently. Bond terms and recovery eligibility are separate questions. The cited text is the official 2024 Code edition; current state implementation requires separate verification.

Why the Other Options Are Wrong

Option A: Professional-liability insurance alone, with no applicable net-worth, bond, or recovery-fund requirement

Professional-liability insurance alone is not one of the specified alternatives.

Option B: Both a surety bond and a recovery fund in every state, with no alternative mechanism

This changes alternatives into a mandatory combined arrangement.

Option C: A fixed federal $50,000 bond for every MLO, regardless of loan volume or state requirements

The statute does not prescribe this flat $50,000 amount.

Exam Tip

Distinguish the federal menu of mechanisms from the state’s implemented requirement.

Was this explanation helpful?

More UST Questions

A Washington broker provides the federal settlement service estimates and booklet in 2026 and no separate state itemization. Can disclosures compliant with RESPA and Regulation X satisfy the state third-party itemization subsection?

Priya is comparing pre-license education providers before applying for a Florida mortgage loan originator license. How many hours of approved pre-license education must she complete in total?

An applicant is budgeting for a Florida MLO license and asks what the state application fee comes to at filing. Which figure is correct?

A newly sponsored Florida MLO is told she must buy an individual surety bond in her own name before she can originate. Is that correct?

A Washington consumer loan act licensee also brokers loans in 2026 outside the authority of that act. Does the consumer-loan-act exemption extend to mortgage brokerage outside that act’s authority?

A $200,000 Texas home equity loan has $3,700 in fees subject to the constitutional cap and a separate $600 fee for an appraisal performed by a third-party appraiser. Do the capped fees exceed the limit?

An owner applies for a Texas home equity loan on 4 May 2026 and the lender delivers the required notice on 8 May. Which date starts the constitutional 12-day waiting period for closing?

An owner closed a Texas home equity loan on 3 February 2026 and wants a second one on the same homestead in November 2026. Assuming no declared-emergency exception applies and the earlier home equity lien will be paid off, may the new loan close in November?

A Texas home equity loan forecloses and the sale leaves the lender $62,000 short of the balance owed. Absent actual fraud in obtaining the credit, may the lender recover the shortfall personally from the owner or spouse?

A Washington real estate broker helps a 2026 buyer arrange financing and takes only the usual sales commission. Does financing assistance incidental to a bona fide sale for only the customary real-estate commission fall within the exemption?

People Also Study

Related Study Resources

Practice More MLO Questions

Access all practice questions with progress tracking and adaptive difficulty to pass your SAFE MLO exam.

Start Practicing