EstatePass vs CompuCram (2026)
The engine the appraisal industry standardized on against the biggest question bank in the category — at a tenth of the price.
CompuCram is the appraisal industry’s standard prep engine — so standard that McKissock licenses it and resells it inside a $229 product. Bought direct it is $149 per license level, with 180 days of access, a Readiness Indicator, and a money-back guarantee.
EstatePass carries 3,355 appraiser questions across both residential levels for $9.99 a month. Both are drill-first products with no live instruction, which makes this an unusually clean comparison: same job, very different price and clock.
Side by side
| EstatePass | CompuCram | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $9.99/moor $39.99 lifetime; free tier available | $149per license level, one-time · 180-day access |
| Best for | Best value | Readiness methodology |
| Practice questions | 3,355 | Not disclosed |
| Format | Bank + mocks + flashcards | Vocab → practice → sims |
| Access | Subscription or lifetime | 180 days |
| Free tier | 20 answers/day | — |
| Extras | — | Readiness Indicator |
| Guarantee | Cancel anytime; free tier forever | 100% money-back |
EstatePass: checked 2026-08-28CompuCram: checked 2026-08-28
Where each one wins
Question volume
EstatePass
3,355 questions across Licensed and Certified Residential, published openly. CompuCram does not disclose its count on the product page, so you are buying depth on reputation.
Price
EstatePass
$149 per license level against $9.99 a month for both levels. If you are moving from Licensed to Certified Residential, CompuCram charges twice and we do not.
Readiness methodology
CompuCram
Their vocabulary-then-practice-then-simulate sequence with a Readiness Indicator is genuinely well designed, and it is why the industry adopted it. We track per-domain mastery and mock scores rather than issuing a single readiness verdict.
Access window
EstatePass
180 days on CompuCram, with the clock starting at purchase. Appraisal candidates often wait on experience hours, so a subscription that pauses when you do is worth more than it sounds.
Guarantee
CompuCram
A 100% money-back guarantee, alongside a claimed 86.5% first-time pass rate. We have a free tier instead of a guarantee — cheaper to evaluate, but no refund promise.
Explanations
EstatePass
AI-tiered explanations on every question: one line, full reasoning, or a deep dive for USPAP scenarios and adjustment math. CompuCram’s strength is drilling structure rather than explanation depth.
USPAP support
EstatePass
We ship a USPAP reference module alongside the bank, which matters because USPAP application questions are where most candidates lose the exam.
Industry recognition
CompuCram
If your instructor or state association recommends prep, they will name CompuCram or McKissock. Brand familiarity is worth something when you are choosing under pressure.
EstatePass
Our product$9.99/mo
EstatePass carries the largest verified appraiser question bank on this list at a fraction of the price: 3,355 questions with worked explanations, real-blueprint mocks, and level-aware practice for Licensed and Certified Residential. It will not replace your 75–200 QE hours — nothing here does — but it is the cheapest way to be sure you are ready before booking Pearson VUE.
PROS
- 3,355 appraiser questions across both license levels, with AI-tiered explanations
- Timed mock exams at the real content-outline weights, plus a USPAP reference module
- Per-question progress grid and a spaced-repetition wrong book
- Costs less per month than any competitor’s one-time product — and starts free
CONS
- No qualifying-education hours — this is exam prep, not the required coursework
- No live instructor sessions
CompuCram
$149
CompuCram is the engine the industry standardized on: vocab-first drills that unlock dynamic practice exams and a readiness score you can trust to schedule around. Buying it direct saves $80 versus the McKissock wrapper; the trade-off is a hard 180-day clock.
PROS
- The de facto standard appraisal prep engine — it also powers McKissock’s product
- Readiness Indicator methodology: vocabulary, practice testing, and dynamic sims that never repeat
- 100% money-back guarantee (claims 86.5% of users pass first try)
CONS
- Only 180 days of access — tight if your exam date slips
- No videos, no live sessions, and question counts are not published
Which should you pick?
Choose EstatePass if…
- You want the biggest published question bank at the lowest price
- You are testing at both Licensed and Certified Residential levels
- Your timeline depends on experience hours you do not fully control
- You want tiered explanations, especially on USPAP and adjustments
Choose CompuCram if…
- You want the readiness-indicator methodology the industry standardized on
- A money-back guarantee matters more to you than price
- Your school or association specifically recommended it
- You will finish comfortably inside 180 days
How we compared: We compared verified price, question-bank depth, access window, simulated-exam realism, and guarantees. Every number was checked on the vendor’s official page on 2026-08-28. Vendors that would not show pricing (VanEd’s appraisal catalog was offline that day) were excluded rather than estimated, and vendor pass-rate claims are labeled as claims.
Disclosure: EstatePass is our own product and is labeled wherever it appears. Competitor prices and features were checked against each vendor's official site on 2026-08-28; anything we could not verify is marked as such rather than estimated. Tell us if something here is out of date.
FAQ
Is McKissock’s prep the same as CompuCram?
Largely. McKissock’s $229 appraisal prep runs on the CompuCram engine that sells directly for $149. The extra $80 buys McKissock’s live Exam Crammer webinars and mentor support — worth it if you will attend, wasted if you will not.
Does either replace my qualifying education hours?
Neither does. The AQB requires 75–200+ hours of qualifying education plus experience before you can sit the exam. Both products are the layer after that coursework, converting course knowledge into a passing score.
How hard is the national appraiser exam?
110–125 questions over 4 hours, with pass rates commonly reported below 70%. The difficulty is application — USPAP scenarios, adjustment math, economic principles — which is exactly what practice questions with explanations address and re-reading course PDFs does not.
What does EstatePass include for appraisers?
3,355 questions across both residential levels with AI-tiered explanations, timed mocks at the official outline weights, a USPAP reference module, flashcards, and a spaced-repetition wrong book — $9.99/month or $39.99 lifetime, with a free 20-questions-a-day tier.
More appraiser licensing resources
Try before you compare on price alone
Our free tier needs no card — answer 20 questions a day and judge the explanations yourself.
