EstatePass
6 products comparedPrices verified 2026-08-28

Best Appraisal Exam Prep (2026)

Six ways to prep for the AQB Licensed and Certified Residential exams, compared on verified price, question depth, and access windows.

The AQB national appraiser exams (Licensed Residential and Certified Residential) are 4-hour, 110–125 question tests administered by Pearson VUE — and national pass rates hover well under 70%. Most candidates arrive fresh off 75–200 education hours and still fail on application questions: USPAP scenarios, adjustments math, and economic principles.

The prep market has a quirk worth knowing before you spend: McKissock, the biggest brand, resells the CompuCram engine inside its $229 prep — the same engine CompuCram sells directly for $149. Below is the whole landscape at verified prices, including options under $60.

Best value: EstatePass

The biggest question bank on this list (3,355) with AI explanations and blueprint mocks for $9.99/month. Start free, 20 questions a day.

Try 20 Free Appraiser Questions

At a glance

ProductPriceBest forPractice questionsFormat
EstatePassOurs$9.99/moor $39.99 lifetime; free tier availableBest value3,355Bank + mocks + flashcards
McKissock Learning$229standalone prep, per license levelLive crammer sessionsNot disclosedCompuCram engine + live
CompuCram$149per license level, one-time · 180-day accessReadiness methodologyNot disclosedVocab → practice → sims
Appraisal Institute$75$60 for AI members · one-time, 1-year accessAuthoritative question set1,000+Question sets only
Appraisal Exam Scholar$49–$69by license level, one-time · 12-month accessBudget full package1,000–1,200 (claimed)Exams + flashcards + AI tutor
Champions School$199live virtual classroom · free retakes for 1 yearLive classroom (TX)Mock exams incl.Live via Zoom

The reviews

1

EstatePass

Our productBest value

$9.99/mo

or $39.99 lifetime; free tier available

EstatePass carries the largest verified appraiser question bank on this list at a fraction of the price: 3,355 questions with worked explanations, real-blueprint mocks, and level-aware practice for Licensed and Certified Residential. It will not replace your 75–200 QE hours — nothing here does — but it is the cheapest way to be sure you are ready before booking Pearson VUE.

Practice questions

3,355

Format

Bank + mocks + flashcards

Access

Subscription or lifetime

Free tier

20 answers/day

PROS

  • 3,355 appraiser questions across both license levels, with AI-tiered explanations
  • Timed mock exams at the real content-outline weights, plus a USPAP reference module
  • Per-question progress grid and a spaced-repetition wrong book
  • Costs less per month than any competitor’s one-time product — and starts free

CONS

  • No qualifying-education hours — this is exam prep, not the required coursework
  • No live instructor sessions
Guarantee: Cancel anytime; free tier foreverestatepass.aiPrice checked 2026-08-28
2

McKissock Learning

Live crammer sessions

$229

standalone prep, per license level

McKissock is the default name in appraisal education, and its prep adds the one thing nobody else has: live crammer webinars with mentor support. Just know that the underlying practice engine is licensed from CompuCram — if you do not need the live sessions, the same core product costs $80 less at the source.

Practice questions

Not disclosed

Format

CompuCram engine + live

Access

Not disclosed

Extras

2 live webinars (7 hrs)

PROS

  • The only appraisal prep with live instructor-led "Exam Crammer" webinars (7 hours, recordings included)
  • 650+ definition flashcards and a simulated exam matching national test conditions
  • The biggest brand in appraisal education — prep bundles into its licensing packages

CONS

  • Most expensive standalone prep in the category, and it runs on the same CompuCram engine sold for $149 direct
  • Neither question counts nor access duration are disclosed on the product page
mckissock.comPrice checked 2026-08-28
3

CompuCram

Readiness methodology

$149

per license level, one-time · 180-day access

CompuCram is the engine the industry standardized on: vocab-first drills that unlock dynamic practice exams and a readiness score you can trust to schedule around. Buying it direct saves $80 versus the McKissock wrapper; the trade-off is a hard 180-day clock.

Practice questions

Not disclosed

Format

Vocab → practice → sims

Access

180 days

Extras

Readiness Indicator

PROS

  • The de facto standard appraisal prep engine — it also powers McKissock’s product
  • Readiness Indicator methodology: vocabulary, practice testing, and dynamic sims that never repeat
  • 100% money-back guarantee (claims 86.5% of users pass first try)

CONS

  • Only 180 days of access — tight if your exam date slips
  • No videos, no live sessions, and question counts are not published
Guarantee: 100% money-backcompucram.comPrice checked 2026-08-28
4

Appraisal Institute

Authoritative question set

$75

$60 for AI members · one-time, 1-year access

The Appraisal Institute’s practice-question package is exactly what it says: a big, credible question set with study tips, nothing more. As a $75 supplement to whatever system you drill in, it is easy to justify; as your only prep, it leaves you to build your own structure.

Practice questions

1,000+

Format

Question sets only

Access

1 year

Extras

Free preview guide

PROS

  • 1,000+ questions from the industry’s most authoritative body, at the second-lowest price here
  • A full year of access and unlimited practice per exam section

CONS

  • Bare questions only — no simulated exam engine, flashcards, videos, or readiness scoring
  • No CE/QE credit and no pass guarantee
appraisalinstitute.orgPrice checked 2026-08-28
5

Appraisal Exam Scholar

Budget full package

$49–$69

by license level, one-time · 12-month access

Appraisal Exam Scholar undercuts everyone at $49–$69 with a surprisingly complete package and a real refund guarantee. The brand is unproven relative to the incumbents — but at this price, the risk is one dinner out.

Practice questions

1,000–1,200 (claimed)

Format

Exams + flashcards + AI tutor

Access

12 months

Extras

Math & stats modules

PROS

  • Cheapest full-featured option: 26 practice exams, 500+ flashcards, math modules, 12-month access
  • Pass guarantee: full refund if you fail within 30 days of completing the course

CONS

  • Unknown brand next to McKissock and CompuCram; claims are not independently audited
  • No live instruction
Guarantee: Full refund if you fail (30-day claim window)appraisalexamscholar.comPrice checked 2026-08-28
6

Champions School

Live classroom (TX)

$199

live virtual classroom · free retakes for 1 year

Champions is the classroom option: scheduled live prep classes with a year of free retakes, plus deep Texas state-portion coverage. If you learn best with an instructor and a calendar, it is worth the premium; self-motivated drillers will move faster elsewhere.

Practice questions

Mock exams incl.

Format

Live via Zoom

Access

1 yr free retakes

Coverage

National + state

PROS

  • Real live instruction over Zoom with free class retakes for a year
  • Covers the state portion alongside the national exam — strongest for Texas candidates

CONS

  • Schedule-dependent, Texas-centric, and pricier than the self-paced options
Guarantee: Free class retakes for 1 yearchampionsschool.comPrice checked 2026-08-28

Which one should you pick?

Best value

EstatePass

The biggest question bank on this list (3,355) with AI explanations and blueprint mocks for $9.99/month. Start free, 20 questions a day.

Best readiness system

CompuCram

The industry-standard engine bought direct — $80 cheaper than the McKissock wrapper, with a money-back guarantee.

Best with live instruction

McKissock

The 7-hour live Exam Crammer with mentor support is unique in the market, and prep bundles into their licensing packages.

Cheapest complete package

Appraisal Exam Scholar

26 practice exams, flashcards, and a refund guarantee from $49.

How we compared: We compared verified price, question-bank depth, access window, simulated-exam realism, and guarantees. Every number was checked on the vendor’s official page on 2026-08-28. Vendors that would not show pricing (VanEd’s appraisal catalog was offline that day) were excluded rather than estimated, and vendor pass-rate claims are labeled as claims.

Disclosure: EstatePass is our own product and is clearly marked wherever it appears. Competitor prices and features were checked against each vendor's official site on 2026-08-28; where we could not verify a number we say so instead of guessing. Found something out of date? Tell us and we'll fix it.

FAQ

How hard is the national appraiser exam?

Harder than most real estate exams: 110–125 questions over 4 hours, with pass rates commonly reported below 70%. The killers are application questions — USPAP scenarios, adjustment math, and the economic-principles vocabulary — which is why practice questions beat re-reading course PDFs.

Does exam prep replace my qualifying education hours?

No. The AQB requires 75 hours (Licensed Residential) to 200+ hours (Certified General) of qualifying education plus experience hours before you can sit the exam. Everything on this page is the layer AFTER that coursework — the part that converts course knowledge into a passing score.

Why isn’t VanEd on this list?

When we ran our verification pass (August 2026), VanEd’s appraisal catalog was offline with a “courses being updated” notice and no visible exam-prep pricing. We only list products whose price and contents we could verify; if their catalog returns, we will re-evaluate.

McKissock or CompuCram — aren’t they the same thing?

Mostly. McKissock’s $229 prep runs on the CompuCram engine that sells directly for $149. What the extra $80 buys is McKissock’s live Exam Crammer webinars and mentor support. If you will not attend the live sessions, buy the engine direct.

What does EstatePass include for appraisers?

3,355 questions across Licensed and Certified Residential levels with AI-tiered explanations, timed mocks at the official outline weights, a USPAP reference module, flashcards, and a spaced-repetition wrong book — $9.99/month or $39.99 lifetime, with a free 20-questions-a-day tier.

Head-to-head comparisons

Free appraiser licensing exam study resources

Try the appraiser licensing exam prep we'd pick

No signup wall in front of the knowledge — start free and see the difference before you spend a dollar.