Best Contractor Exam Prep (2026)
Seven ways to prep for NASCLA, state GC, and trade exams — from $75 question packs to $4,999 guided programs, every price verified the same day.
Contractor exam prep is really three markets wearing one name: digital practice ($75–$400), course-plus-books bundles ($2,400–$3,900 — the tabbed reference sets for open-book exams are most of that), and classroom programs with guarantees ($1,195–$4,999). Which one you need depends on your exam: NASCLA and most trade exams are open book, so the books and tabs matter; closed-book exams reward pure drilling.
We verified every price below on the vendor’s own site on the same day, including the sales running that week. One long-time player (Contractor Campus) failed verification entirely — its product pages were broken or redirecting to spam — so it is excluded rather than guessed at.
Best digital practice: EstatePass
15,400+ questions across 20 lines with mock exams at real specs and lookup drills, for $9.99/month. Start free, 20 questions a day.
At a glance
| Product | Price | Best for | Practice questions | Exam lines |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EstatePassOurs | $9.99/moor $39.99 lifetime; free tier available | Best digital practice | 15,400+ | 20 (NASCLA, FL, CA, ICC…) |
| Contractor Training Center | $349NASCLA course; packages $2,999–$3,299 · 6-month access | NASCLA leader | 1,100+ | Course + simulator |
| 1 Exam Prep | $395+$300 live classes; FL ultimate rental $2,895 + deposit · 1-year access | Florida leader | Hundreds (printable) | Course + live classes |
| @HomePrep | $399course only; complete packages $2,592–$3,335 · 1-year access | One-stop packages | Rotating quizzes | Self-paced course |
| Gold Coast Schools | $1,199FL Essentials; Confidence $3,299–$3,749; Guided $4,549–$4,999 | Florida classrooms | Simulated exams | Campus / live / on-demand |
| CSLS | $1,195CA All-Inclusive; Home Study from $295 | California + strongest guarantee | Not disclosed | 25+ CA locations + online |
| PSI Online Store | $74.95Residential study-pack, 420 questions · limited-term access | From the test maker | 420 | Test + training modes |
The reviews
EstatePass
Our productBest digital practice$9.99/mo
or $39.99 lifetime; free tier available
EstatePass is the digital practice layer of this market: the widest line coverage on this list, per-domain mastery tracking, and drills built for open-book lookup speed. It will not put 25 tabbed books on your exam table — nobody digital will — but as the daily drilling engine next to your references, nothing here comes close on price.
Practice questions
15,400+
Exam lines
20 (NASCLA, FL, CA, ICC…)
Access
Subscription or lifetime
Free tier
20 answers/day
PROS
- 15,400+ questions across 20 exam lines — NASCLA, Florida GC, California, ICC inspector, electrician, plumber, HVAC, EPA 608 and more
- Interactive video lessons, a daily study plan synced with the iOS app, and book-lookup drills for open-book exams
- Mock exams at each line’s real question count, time limit, and pass score
- Costs less per year than a single tab pack — and starts free
CONS
- No physical books or tabbing service — for open-book exams you still need the required references
- No live classes or application-processing service
Contractor Training Center
NASCLA leader$349
NASCLA course; packages $2,999–$3,299 · 6-month access
Contractor Training Center owns the NASCLA conversation, and the product backs it up: the biggest verified question bank in the NASCLA space and the cleanest tabbed-book logistics. Budget realistically — the $349 course becomes $3,000+ once the book bundle everyone actually needs is in the cart.
Practice questions
1,100+
Format
Course + simulator
Access
6 months
Extras
Tabbed book bundles
PROS
- The reference NASCLA prep: 1,100+ question simulator, per-subject quizzes, highlighting guides
- Pro packages bundle professionally tabbed and highlighted book sets plus live webinars
- Claims a 90% first-time pass rate across 60,000+ students
CONS
- Six-month access, shorter than 1 Exam Prep and @HomePrep
- Refunds only within 30 days if under 25% complete; the no-pass-no-pay guarantee once advertised was nowhere on their site when we checked
1 Exam Prep
Florida leader$395
+$300 live classes; FL ultimate rental $2,895 + deposit · 1-year access
1 Exam Prep is the Florida heavyweight and a serious NASCLA option, pairing live virtual classes with the market’s only book-rental scheme. The claimed 98.7% pass rate is marketing; the all-sales-final refund policy is contract — know both before checkout.
Practice questions
Hundreds (printable)
Format
Course + live classes
Access
1 year
Extras
Book rental model
PROS
- Florida’s dominant prep brand, with weekly live virtual classes and recordings on the instructor tier
- Book rental model cuts the upfront cost of the 19-reference Florida set
- A full year of course access
CONS
- All sales final — no refunds on courses, 20% restocking on authorized returns, and no pass guarantee
- The Ultimate package totals $3,895 with the refundable deposit
@HomePrep
One-stop packages$399
course only; complete packages $2,592–$3,335 · 1-year access
@HomePrep’s pitch is logistics: one order and the entire exam-table book stack shows up with the course. The No Pass, No Pay banner is the friendliest guarantee language in this set — just ask for the actual terms in writing before you rely on it.
Practice questions
Rotating quizzes
Format
Self-paced course
Access
1 year
Extras
Course + books + tabs
PROS
- True one-stop bundles: course, every required book, and the tab pack in one order, for NASCLA and Florida
- A visible "No Pass, No Pay" guarantee and a year of access
- Math and calculation modules with instructor support
CONS
- Self-study only — no live classes on the pages we verified
- Guarantee terms are not detailed, and complete packages price at the top of the market
Gold Coast Schools
Florida classrooms$1,199
FL Essentials; Confidence $3,299–$3,749; Guided $4,549–$4,999
Gold Coast is the institutional choice in Florida: real classrooms, real instructors, and hand-holding through the license application itself. You pay for the building and the brand — self-motivated studiers can assemble the same materials for a third of the price.
Practice questions
Simulated exams
Format
Campus / live / on-demand
Access
Program-based
Extras
Application processing
PROS
- The only major Florida player with physical campuses, livestream, and on-demand in one ladder (6 locations, 50+ years)
- Top tier includes a dedicated licensing specialist and full application processing (a $979 value alone)
- Proprietary open-book lookup method taught in class
CONS
- Priciest entry point among Florida course options ($1,199 vs $395–$400 rivals)
- Books only arrive in the $3,299+ tiers, and no pass guarantee was surfaced on the page
CSLS
California + strongest guarantee$1,195
CA All-Inclusive; Home Study from $295
For CSLB candidates, CSLS is the default for a reason: a real classroom network and the only unconditional-sounding money-back guarantee in this research — read the attendance conditions, but it is genuinely the strongest promise in the market. Outside California, it is not an option.
Practice questions
Not disclosed
Format
25+ CA locations + online
Access
6 months (All-Inclusive)
Extras
Application prep included
PROS
- The category-defining California school: 25+ locations, 200,000+ graduates, 40+ years
- The strongest guarantee we verified anywhere: 100% tuition money-back on All-Inclusive, and they pay for your retake
- Clean four-tier ladder from $295 home study to the full program
CONS
- California only, and the guarantee requires attending all classes and completing the study plan as directed
- Practice-question counts not disclosed
PSI Online Store
From the test maker$74.95
Residential study-pack, 420 questions · limited-term access
PSI’s own study packs are the budget sanity check: 420 exam-mirroring questions from the actual test administrator for $75. Treat it as a format rehearsal, not a curriculum — it teaches you the screen, not the trade.
Practice questions
420
Format
Test + training modes
Access
~90 days
Extras
Per-topic score reports
PROS
- Sold by PSI — the company that administers most state contractor exams — so the format mirrors the real screen
- Cheapest verified entry in the market with unlimited attempts during the term
CONS
- Questions only: no books, videos, classes, or instructor support
- National outlines rather than state-specific content, and a short access window
Which one should you pick?
Best digital practice
EstatePass
15,400+ questions across 20 lines with mock exams at real specs and lookup drills, for $9.99/month. Start free, 20 questions a day.
Best for NASCLA
Contractor Training Center
The 1,100+ question simulator plus professionally tabbed book bundles — the reference NASCLA program.
Best for Florida
1 Exam Prep
Live virtual classes, a year of access, and the book-rental model that cuts the upfront reference cost.
Best for California
CSLS
The classroom network plus the strongest verified guarantee in the market: pass, or tuition back and the retake paid.
How we compared: We compared verified price, practice-question depth, access windows, book/tab logistics, live instruction, and the exact terms behind each pass guarantee. Every number was read from the vendor’s official page on 2026-08-28; sale prices are noted as seen. Vendor pass-rate claims (90–99%) are labeled as claims — none are independently audited.
Disclosure: EstatePass is our own product and is clearly marked wherever it appears. Competitor prices and features were checked against each vendor's official site on 2026-08-28; where we could not verify a number we say so instead of guessing. Found something out of date? Tell us and we'll fix it.
FAQ
Why do contractor prep packages cost $3,000+?
Books. Open-book exams like NASCLA allow specific reference sets — 19 to 25 volumes — and the bundles include them professionally tabbed and highlighted. The courses themselves run $349–$700; the paper is the rest. If you already own the references (or rent them), the digital gap between $400 courses and $10/month practice is where you save.
Which pass guarantees are real?
CSLS verifiably promises 100% tuition back plus a paid retake, conditioned on attending classes and completing the plan. @HomePrep advertises No Pass, No Pay without published terms. 1 Exam Prep has no guarantee and an all-sales-final policy, and Contractor Training Center’s once-advertised guarantee was absent from its site when we checked. Every claimed pass rate (90–99%) is a marketing number.
Why isn’t Contractor Campus on this list?
When we ran verification (August 2026), their product pages returned 404s or redirected to spam domains — a sign of a compromised site. We could not verify a price or safely link to a product, so they are excluded until that is fixed.
Open book or closed book — how should that change my prep?
Open-book exams (NASCLA, most trade exams) are a speed test in disguise: you cannot look up 100 answers in 5.5 hours, so practice finding answers fast in tabbed references — and drill the questions you should not need to look up. Closed-book exams (California CSLB) are pure recall: question volume and spaced review win.
What does EstatePass cover for contractors?
20 exam lines — NASCLA, Florida GC, California, ICC B1/B2/E1/P1/M1, journeyman and master electrician, plumber, HVAC, EPA 608 and more — with 15,400+ explained questions, per-line mock exams at real specs, interactive video lessons, a daily study plan, and book-lookup drills. $9.99/month or $39.99 lifetime, free tier included.
Head-to-head comparisons
Free contractor license exam study resources
Try the contractor license exam prep we'd pick
No signup wall in front of the knowledge — start free and see the difference before you spend a dollar.
