EstatePass

Florida licenses general contractors through the Construction Industry Licensing Board, Department of Business and Professional Regulation under Fla. Stat. ch. 489, pt. I; Fla. Admin. Code ch. 61G4. The exam is Three tests: (1) business and financial management of a contracting firm, (2) contract administration, (3) project management. The contract administration and project management tests count as one test for fee purposes.. General liability cover starts at $300,000. You need 4 years of qualifying experience. 14 hours every two years to renew.

State licence requiredAccepts NASCLA

Florida Contractor License Requirements

Every figure below was read off the CILB or the statute, and the sentence it came from is listed at the bottom of this page. Where a figure could not be verified this page says so rather than showing a number.

What the state requires

Licence
Certified General Contractor (Division I; statewide certification). A registered general contractor is the local-jurisdiction-only alternative.
Issued by
Construction Industry Licensing Board, Department of Business and Professional RegulationFla. Stat. ch. 489, pt. I; Fla. Admin. Code ch. 61G4
Exam
Three tests: (1) business and financial management of a contracting firm, (2) contract administration, (3) project management. The contract administration and project management tests count as one test for fee purposes.
Exam fee
No verified figureThe $335 is a single combined application-and-examination fee, broken down by rule as $135 paid to the Department or its examination development vendor when the tests are scheduled, $80 per test administered (two test administrations for a general contractor, since contract administration and project management count as one test), and $40 to the Department for processing after the examination is passed. That arithmetic is what makes $335. Biennial renewal is $200. Qualifying a business organization costs a further $50 to apply and $50 per biennial renewal. The board does not publish its own separate exam-fee figure, and the DBPR site (www2.myfloridalicense.com) was behind a Cloudflare challenge, so exam_fee_usd is left null rather than guessed.
Application fee
$335
Initial licence fee
$200
Licence bond
Not requiredFlorida does not impose a flat licence bond on certified general contractors. Financial responsibility is proved by credit report and FICO score under Fla. Admin. Code r. 61G4-15.006; a bond only arises as an alternative for applicants who cannot meet that test, and no fixed figure for it was found on an official source.
General liability
$300,000The $300,000 public liability / $50,000 property damage figures are the aggregate amounts the board's rule sets specifically for the General Contractor category (Building Contractor is the same; Residential and the specialty trades are $100,000 / $25,000). The licensee signs an affidavit and must keep the coverage for the life of the licence; the board runs random audits by zip code and can demand the certificate of insurance within 30 days.
Workers compensation
Required
Experience
4 yearsFour years of active experience is the base route, of which at least 1 year must be as a foreman. A baccalaureate degree in engineering, architecture or building construction cuts it to 1 year of proven experience; a combination of college credits and experience is also allowed. For the general contractor category the board defines the experience as commercial work in four or more of: foundations/slabs over 20,000 sq ft, masonry walls, steel erection, elevated slabs, column erection, formwork for structural reinforced concrete β€” plus at least one year on structures not less than four stories in height. That four-story clause is the requirement most applicants miss.
Financial requirement
Credit report with a FICO-derived score of 660 or higher and no unsatisfied judgments or liens. An applicant below 660 can instead complete a 14-hour board-approved financial responsibility course.
Continuing education
14 hours every two years14 classroom hours of at least 50 minutes each per biennium, tied to the renewal cycle.
Renewal
Every 2 years
NASCLA exam
AcceptedThe Florida Construction Industry Licensing Board is on NASCLA's list of agencies that accept the NASCLA Accredited Examination for Commercial General Building Contractors. NASCLA's page does not state which Florida test parts it displaces, and the DBPR site was unreachable, so what exactly it replaces is not recorded here.

CILB

What people get wrong

The DBPR licensing site (www2.myfloridalicense.com) sat behind a Cloudflare bot challenge throughout, so everything here is taken from the Florida Administrative Code on flrules.org and the statutes on leg.state.fl.us instead. The distinction that trips applicants up: a CERTIFIED general contractor may work anywhere in Florida, while a REGISTERED contractor is limited to the local jurisdiction that qualified them β€” 489.113 makes statewide practice the thing certification buys. Registration costs $100 to apply rather than $335.

Frequently asked questions

Do I need a contractor licence in Florida?
Yes. Florida issues a state general contractor licence β€” Certified General Contractor (Division I; statewide certification). A registered general contractor is the local-jurisdiction-only alternative. β€” through the Construction Industry Licensing Board, Department of Business and Professional Regulation. The DBPR licensing site (www2.myfloridalicense.com) sat behind a Cloudflare bot challenge throughout, so everything here is taken from the Florida Administrative Code on flrules.org and the statutes on leg.state.fl.us instead. The distinction that trips applicants up: a CERTIFIED general contractor may work anywhere in Florida, while a REGISTERED contractor is limited to the local jurisdiction that qualified them β€” 489.113 makes statewide practice the thing certification buys. Registration costs $100 to apply rather than $335.
How much continuing education does Florida require?
14 hours every two years. 14 classroom hours of at least 50 minutes each per biennium, tied to the renewal cycle.
Does Florida accept the NASCLA exam?
Yes. The Florida Construction Industry Licensing Board is on NASCLA's list of agencies that accept the NASCLA Accredited Examination for Commercial General Building Contractors. NASCLA's page does not state which Florida test parts it displaces, and the DBPR site was unreachable, so what exactly it replaces is not recorded here.

Sources

  1. β€œThe application and examination fee for an applicant for certification shall be three hundred thirty-five dollars ($335.00) and shall be nonrefundable. Said fee shall cover both the processing of the application for certification and the administration of the examination.”

    https://www.flrules.org/gateway/readFile.asp?sid=0&tid=19533392&type=1&file=61G4-12.009.doc
  2. β€œThe biennial renewal fee for certification and registration shall be two hundred dollars ($200.00).”

    https://www.flrules.org/gateway/readFile.asp?sid=0&tid=19533392&type=1&file=61G4-12.009.doc
  3. β€œProper aggregate amount of public liability and property damage as defined below: Liability Property Damage General Contractor $300,000 $50,000”

    https://www.flrules.org/gateway/readFile.asp?sid=0&tid=4819074&type=1&file=61G4-15.003.doc
  4. β€œFailure to provide proof of a credit score, FICO derived, of 660 or higher. Applicants who are unable to provide a credit score, FICO derived, of 660 or higher, shall meet the financial stability requirement by completion of a 14-hour financial responsibility course approved by the Board.”

    https://www.flrules.org/gateway/readFile.asp?sid=0&tid=28267757&type=1&file=61G4-15.006.doc
  5. β€œEach certificateholder or registrant shall provide proof, in a form established by rule of the board, that the certificateholder or registrant has completed at least 14 classroom hours of at least 50 minutes each of continuing education courses during each biennium since the issuance or renewal of the certificate or registration.”

    http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0400-0499/0489/Sections/0489.115.html
  6. β€œHas a total of at least 4 years of active experience as a worker who has learned the trade by serving an apprenticeship ... provided, however, that at least 1 year of active experience shall be as a foreman.”

    http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0400-0499/0489/Sections/0489.111.html
  7. β€œCertification Examination for General Contractors, Tower Specialty Contractors, and Industrial Facility Specialty Contractors. The certification examination shall consist of three tests.”

    https://www.flrules.org/gateway/readFile.asp?sid=0&tid=29024357&type=1&file=61G4-16.001.doc
  8. β€œFlorida Construction Industry Licensing Board”

    https://www.nascla.org/nascla-commercial-exam-participating-state-agencies

Then there is the exam

Practise Florida exam questions free, with explanations that cite the reference book and section.

Free practice exam

Disclaimer: EstatePass is an independent exam preparation platform and is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or connected to any state contractor licensing board, the Construction Industry Licensing Board (CILB), the Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR), NASCLA, Pearson VUE, PSI, or any government agency. Exam requirements, fees, and regulations change frequently. Always verify current requirements with your state's licensing board before making decisions. Information shown was last verified on the dates indicated and may not reflect the most recent changes.